IT Infrastructure Department

The Information Technology Infrastructure department is responsible for provisioning, managing, and maintaining UMW’s core technology infrastructure and services.   The department strives to manage and enhance enterprise infrastructure and services in support of the university’s strategic, tactical, and operational goals.

The department is divided into two functional areas.

Network/Telecommunications

  • Wired/wireless network
  • Internet (staff)
  • Email
  • Directory services
  • Storage
  • Telephones
  • Cabling

Data Center Services

  • Data Center
  • Servers
  • Storage
  • Backup

The IT Infrastructure Department reports to the Vice President for Information Technology and CIO, and works closely with the other units within the Department of Information Technologies to provide overall IT and project management support to the university community.

Normal hours of operation are Monday-Friday, 8:00AM-5:00PM.

Meet the IT Infrastructure Staff

Hall B. Cheshire
Executive Director, IT Infrastructure
hcheshir@umw.edu George Washington, Room 307 (540) 654-1291

Network and Communications Staff

Deborah Hovey Boutchyard
Director, Network & Communication Services
dhovey@umw.edu ITCC, Room 426 (540) 654-1217
George Thurston
Network Analyst Senior
george@umw.edu ITCC, Room 425 (540) 654-2261
Jason Harrington
Network Analyst Expert
sharring@umw.eud ITCC, Room 425 (540) 654-1220
John Newett
Manager, Network Services
jnewett@umw.edu ITCC, Room 425 (540) 654-1223
David McCray
Structured Cabling Technician
dmccray@umw.edu ITCC, Room 425 (540) 654-1438

Data Center Staff

David Dean
Data Center Analyst
ddean@umw.edu ITCC, Room 423 (540) 654-5985
Gaston Smith
Windows Systems Administrator
Dsmith@umw.edu ITCC, Room 422 (540) 654-5984
Shaun Melendy
UNIX/Linux Systems Administrator
smelendy@umw.edu ITCC, Room 422 (540) 654-1721